This is Ministry

11902314_10153660271772268_4461891590249871027_nIt’s the mud in the eye that stings and blinds.  It’s the never ending barrage that leaves you saying, “I’m too old for this.”  Wave after wave they come determined, unrelenting, unmerciful.  They all want a piece of this old man.

The confrontation hurts, but not as much as the missed opportunities; those that pass by unnoticed, unchallenged, unchanged.

This one’s back again.  For the 15th time he’s taking his run at me.  How does he get up so quick when it takes me so long to recover?  Will this time be his victory?

From my knees I bring him down and from my knees I help him back up.  Not this time son.  Try again.  I want him to try again.  I want him to succeed, but I won’t lay down.  I won’t simply give it to him.

With every encounter he’s learning; learning to adjust, learning to persevere, learning to respect.  With each run he’s growing he’s maturing He’s getting stronger.  It comes at my expense but it’s a price I’m willing to pay.

This is impartation.
This is mentoring.
This is iron sharpening iron.
This is ministry

One thought on “This is Ministry

  1. This is a reminder to make sure your health coverage is current! I can relate to the recovery time comment. It only gets longer each year!

    It’s an amazing privilege to inspire and motivate the next generation. Thanks for your involvement.

Leave a comment